How To Recover Deleted Location History On Android

How To Recover Deleted Location History On Android

Keeping track of what places you have been to is excellent. Luckily, Google saves your location history.

You can see all the places you have been through in the past days, weeks, or even months. What happens if you accidentally delete the history?

Well, all of your data will be gone. Lucky for you, this article will show you how to recover it.

Easy Steps To Track All Your Location History

  1. The first thing you would need to do is log in to your Google account. Note that it is best to use a personal computer or a laptop for this process, and connect to your private network to avoid possible hackers tracking you down.
  2. The next step is to go to this website: com/maps/timeline. On this site, you can see all your location history.
    The red dots indicate where your phone has been. There is a setting to check the dates and years to see where your Android phone has been for that specific date.

FAQs

1. What Does My Google Location Do?

Google Location is a feature that helps the users experience what they love to do in a new place recommended by Google.

It gives recommendations based on your previous choices, provides real-time traffic updates, and even helps you locate your phone. It personalizes everything they recommend based on the collected data they get from your own choices.

2. Is It Safe To Turn My Google Location On?

Google itself will collect the data gathered from you, so you can be assured that it is safe. They actively collect your data, not just your location but everything, to ensure that you see and get recommendations for all the things you like.

Knowing that Google handles your data assures that it will only be used for recommendations and will not be exploited. This is indicated in their Terms & Agreement.

3. How To Turn On My Google Location?

Turning on your location is easy. Just follow these steps to do it.

  1. Go to the settings of your phone.
  2. Go to Location.
  3. Choose “Google Location History.”
  4. Choose your Google account.
  5. Lastly, toggle the “On” button.

4. Where Can I See My Location History?

You can see your location history by going to this link. This site will give you all your past location history.

All the red dots indicate the places you have been to. You can also view a specific date to see where you are on the said date.

5. How To Delete Location History?

There are two ways to delete your location history: the Google Maps app and the other via a web browser.

When using the Google Maps app:

  1. Open the Google Maps app from your Android phone or tablet.
  2. Tap your profile picture and click “Your Timeline.”
  3. Click more or the three adjacent dots on the top right side, then go to Settings and Privacy.
  4. Under “Location Settings,” you can either delete all location history, delete location history range, delete day, or delete a stop.

4.1. To delete a day, you can select the show calendar button and choose a date to delete.

4.2. To delete a stop, you can select the show calendar button and choose a day with the stop you want to delete, tap the stop, and press delete.

  1. Lastly, follow the on-screen instructions, and you are ready to go.

When using a web browser:

  1. In your web browser, open the site: com/maps/timeline.
  2. You can choose between Delete all Location History, Delete a day from Location History, and Delete a stop from Location History.

2.1. To delete just the day on your location history, select the month, day, and year that you want to delete.

2.2. To delete a stop from your location history, select the month, day, and year you want to delete, then choose the stop and press more or the three adjacent dots, and remove the stop from that day.

  1. Tap delete.
  2. Lastly, follow the on-screen instructions.
Scroll to Top