How To Deactivate Tiktok Account Temporarily

How To Deactivate Tiktok Account Temporarily? (2022)

If you want to take a break from Tiktok, you might think about deactivating your account.

Account deactivation will hide your account from the public.

People will not be able to find you on Tiktok if your account is deactivated.

Let us talk about how you can temporarily deactivate your account.

Account Deactivation

There is only one way to deactivate your account.

You need to follow these steps:

  1. Open Tiktok
  2. Go to your profile on the bottom right
  3. Click on the 3 dash line icon on the top right
  4. Open [Settings and Privacy]
  5. Go to [Manage Account]
  6. Find [Delete Account]

Note: Delete account will give you 30 days to log in again before your account gets permanently deleted!

This is the only way to temporarily deactivate Tiktok.

  1. Tap on [I’m leaving temporarily]
  2. Click [Continue]
  3. Tiktok will ask you if you want to download your data.

Note: If you want to make sure that you have your Tiktok videos and other Tiktok data, you can click on [Request download].

  1. Click on the [By continuing…] agreement below.
  2. Click on [Continue]

Note: The [Continue] will be shaded grey and you cannot click it if you don’t agree on the terms about reviewing your data.

  1. Here, Tiktok will give you some information about what will happen next.
  2. Click on [Continue]
  3. Tiktok will send a 6 digit code to your phone number. Enter the 6 digit code.
  4. Click on [Delete account]
  5. Confirm the delete by clicking on [Delete]
  6. You will be logged out and your account is now suspended for 30 days.

Remember that your account is not yet deleted.

It is only deactivated for 30 days.

If you don’t log in within 29 days, your account will be permanently deleted and you will never get it again.

Account Reactivation

To reactivate your account, you simply need to login again.

This video will explain how to reactivate your account.

Deactivate Account For More Than 1 Month?

This is not possible.

You can only deactivate your account for 29 days.

If 29 day pass and you don’t login again, your account gets deleted.

If you wish to be inactive for months, we suggest this option.

  1. Deactivate account using the method mentioned above.
  2. After 29 days, reactivate your account.
  3. Deactivate the account again

There is no other way to deactivate Tiktok account without using the delete option.

Tiktok unfortunately removed the option to temporarily deactivate without getting deleted.

It was only possible in the old versions of Tiktok.

FAQ

How To Recover Deleted Tiktok Account?

You cannot.

A deleted Tiktok account cannot be recovered.

The delete account process will give you exactly 30 days.

You can recover the account if you are still within those 30 days.

If you miss the 30 days threshold, it is impossible to recover the Tiktok account.

Why Did My Tiktok Account Get Deleted?

Maybe you violated the Tiktok Policy or their Community Guidelines.

Tiktok will ban you if you misbehave on the app.

Here is a list of things you should not do on Tiktok.

  1. Sexual Exploitation
  2. Grooming Behavior
  3. Nudity (General)
  4. Harmful Activities
  5. Physical and Psychological Harm (especially on minors)
  6. Crimes against Children
  7. Dangerous acts and challenges
  8. Suicide, self-harm, and disordered eating
  9. Adult nudity
  10. Bullying and harassment
  11. Sexual harassment
  12. Hacking, doxxing, and blackmail
  13. Hateful behaviour
  14. Hateful ideology
  15. Violent extremism
  16. Spamming, faking account, impersonation
  17. Illegal activities
  18. Posting violent and graphic content
  19. Copyright violations

You can learn more about all this on the Tiktok Community Guidelines.

Can You Hide Your Tiktok Account?

Deactivating is the only way to hide your account.

There is no other way.

You can only make your account private.

Making your account private will not hide it.

People can still search you on Tiktok.

If an account is private, only followers can view and see your posts on Tiktok.

People will need your approval first before they can follow you.

How to make my Tiktok account private?

Follow these steps to make your account private.

  1. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
  2. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right.
  3. Tap Settings and Privacy.
  4. Go to Privacy.
  5. Turn Private Account on or off.

Now your account is private.

If you turn a public account into private.

Old followers will be automatically added.

New followers will need approval.

Scroll to Top